Study by Mertz


Another piece by Johann Kaspar Mertz (1806-1856), this time his Study, otherwise known as Etude in A minor. The score once again can be found in Eythor Thorlaksson’s free Guitar Moment II collection.

I only found one or two recordings of this on YouTube, notably a performance by Trevor Maurice with accompanying notes. I use different right hand fingering for the semiquavers (16th notes), p-i-m-a-m-i-a-m-i. I find that more natural. As he says, this piece is good practice for slurs, with several pull-offs to be played smoothly at brisk tempo.

This is the fastest piece I’ve learned so far. I started practising it slowly and increased the speed only after I was comfortable playing it all. The last couple of bars took some extra practice because of the shifts of position. I still find it difficult to play the semiquavers evenly throughout and that’s something I need to work on.

Leave a Reply

