Study in B Minor by Sor

I said before that I want to work on several pieces at a time, at various stages of completion. I want to work not only on short practice pieces as I’ve been doing but also on pieces that I can perform to an audience, something I can really get my teeth into. I need something for when friends and family ask me to play.

My first performance piece, as it were, will be Study in B Minor by Fernando Sor (1778-1839). It’s popular with beginners as well as more advanced players. Here’s a video of Julian Bream playing it:

I’m working from the score that comes with Stanley Yates’ performance notes. I’ve memorised it already, which took around five hours over a week or so, but I’m still working on it. There’s a couple of passages I’m not quite comfortable with yet, notably the last few bars, and I’m still trying to incorporate the dynamics as well as bring out the melody line more consistently. But more of that later.

This is one I’ll come back to again and again.

[Edit: I’ve now recorded this. See this post from 22 September 2016.]

Leave a Reply

