2000 grit sandpaper

Another step in my exploration of tone production: I’ve just acquired some 2000-grit sandpaper. Yes, 2000! It’s so fine you hardly notice the grit. Compared to the rough stuff I was using before, it’s made my nails silky smooth. (Though the rough stuff was gradually becoming less and less rough through use.)

My process for nail care is to file them to the desired length and into the desired shape once a week or so, and sand and buff them every day. This seems to keep the tone fairly consistent. I use a regular nail file and a tissue for buffing.

While the 2000-grit sandpaper does a great job of smoothing my nails, it doesn’t appear to last very long. The first bit I cut off is already starting to resemble a piece of old leather. So it’s maybe buffing my nails more than sanding them now.

Leave a comment